Bagbin sworn-in as Speaker of Eighth Parliament

Bagbin sworn-in as Speaker of Eighth Parliament

The Chief Justice Kwasi Anin Yeboah conducted the swearing-in, taking Bagbin through the required oaths.

The former Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo, Alban Sumana Bagbin has been sworn-in as Speaker of Parliament of the Eighth Parliament of the Republic of Ghana. 

Also elected (per consensus) are Messrs Joseph Osei-Wusu (MP for Bekwai-NPP) as 1st Deputy Speaker and Andrew Asiamah Amoako, Independent MP for Fomena as 2nd Deputy Speaker.

Bagbin has been in Parliament since the advent of the 4th Republic and has served virtually in all positions available in the House.

The Clerk to Parliament, Mr Cyril Nsiah declared Bagbin winner after a rancorous election process characterised by a ballots snatching incident, a military intervention over disputes in how voting should proceed, and near fisticuffs over sitting arrangements.

The National Democratic Congress nominated him for the post, while the New Patriotic Party nominated the immediate past Speaker, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye.

Alban Bagbin, a lawyer and career politician, was born on September 24, 1957, at Sombo in the Upper West Region of Ghana.

He is a graduate of the University of Ghana and the Ghana School of Law and also holds an Executive Masters in Governance and Leadership from the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA).

Categories: News